Skip to main content
Procore

(Beta) Assign a Custom Workflow Template to a Project

 

 

 In Beta
This page details functionality that is not available in Procore's production environment. Access to the features documented here is limited to specific Procore customers who have signed the required agreement to participate in Procore's Company level Workflows Tool Beta Program. The content on this page is for informational purposes only and all information and content on this page is subject to change without any prior notice. To learn more, see About the Workflows Beta Program.

Objective

To assign a published custom workflow to one (1) or more Procore projects in your company's account. 

Background

After you publish a custom workflow, you can click the hyperlink in the 'Assigned Projects' column. This action opens a dialog box that allows you to assign the workflow to the Procore Project tool that the workflow was built to interact with. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    •  'Admin' level permissions on the Company level Workflows tool.
      OR
    • 'Read Only' or 'Standard' level permissions on the Company level Workflows tool with the 'Assign Workflow Templates to Projects' granular permission enabled on your company permission template. 

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Company level Workflows tool. 
  2. In the 'Workflows' table, locate the version that you want to publish. 
     Note
    You can only assign published versions of a custom workflow to a project. To learn how to tell a draft from a published version, see How are version numbers updated in the Company level Workflows tool?
  3. Click the hyperlink in the 'Assigned Projects' column.  

    v2-workflows-assigned-projects-link.png
     
  4. In the 'Assign Projects' dialog box, do the following:
    • To select all of the active projects in your company's account, place a mark in the Select All check box. 
      v2-workflows-assign-select-all-projects.png
    • To search for individual projects, start typing the project name in the Search box. Then place a mark in the checkbox(es) that corresponds to the desired project(s). 
      v2-workflows-search-assign-to-project.png
  5. Click Update

Assign a Workflow Template to New Projects

A workflow template can be assigned automatically to all new projects. This is to prevent having to assign the same template to each new project you create. 

  1. Navigate to the Company level Workflows tool.
  2. In the 'Workflows' table, locate the version that you want to assign to all new projects.
  3. Hover over the space in the 'Assign to New Projects' column.
  4. Click Assign.
    assign-to-all-projects-workflow.png
  5. A checkmark will appear showing that it has been assigned to all new projects
  6. Optional: If you want to unassign a template from all new projects, click the checkmark again.