Skip to main content
Procore (en-CA)

How do I configure privacy settings for a communications item?

When you create a communications item, you have the option to mark the communications as private. See also Create a Communications Item.

Access Levels

When communications items are marked as ‘Private’, the following users will have access to the item if they have been given ‘Read Only’ level permissions or higher on the communications type designated for the item.

Role None Read-only1  Standard2  Admin3  
User who creates a communications     icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png
User who is assigned a communications   icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png
Members of a Distribution List   icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png
Any users in the "Received From" field   icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png
*Any users who are part of the same company as the users above   icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png icon_checkmark_h17.png
Company and Project Admins       icon_checkmark_h17.png

1 Read-only implies the ability to view a communications item.

2 Standard implies the ability to create, view and respond to a communications item. A user with standard permissions who creates a communications item can edit it.

3 Admin implies the ability to edit a communications item.

* For Read-only and Standard, granular permissions have to be set to Turn ALL On.

See Also